Archived Seminar Series

The Department of Economics maintains a seminar series to enhance the development and transmission of knowledge and research. The department series and related forums have hosted key figures in economics, including Noble Laureates, Members of the Council of Economic Advisors, and top academic economists.

Spring 2008

Date Title Speaker Affiliation
Fri, 04/04/2008
Bridging the Gap between the Field and the Lab: Environmental Goods, Policy Maker Input, and Consequentiality
Christian Vossler
University of Tennessee
Fri, 03/07/2008
Demand for Diving on Large Ship Artificial Reefs
Ash Morgan
University of West Florida
Mon, 03/03/2008
Research Institute for Environment, Energy and Economics Presentation
David Bjornstad
Oak Ridge National Laboratory & University of Tennessee
Wed, 01/23/2008
Quantity Uncertainty and Demand: The Case of Water Smart Reader Ownership
Aaron Strong
Arizona State University
Thu, 01/17/2008
Trust, Risk and the Lender-Borrower Relationship
Jaclyn Kropp
Trust, Risk and the Lender-Borrower Relationship

Fall 2007

Date Title Speaker Affiliation
Fri, 11/16/2007
Personalty Interests at the Constitutional Convention: A Test of the Beard Thesis
Jac Heckelman
Wake Forest University
Fri, 11/09/2007
Cognitive Dissonance, Self-Esteem, and Behavioral Spillover Effects
David Dickinson
Appalachian State University
Fri, 11/02/2007
Naming Your Own Price Mechanisms: Revenue Gain or Drain?
Artie Zillante
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Fri, 10/26/2007
Investment Tax Credit in an Open Developing Economy with External Debt and Sovereign Risk
Mohammed Mohsin
University of Tennessee
Fri, 10/19/2007
Enforcing Voluntary Contributions to a Threshold Public Good
Dave McEvoy
Appalachian State University
Fri, 09/21/2007
Convergent Validity of Revealed and Stated Recreation Behavior with Quality Change
John Whitehead
Appalachian State University
Fri, 09/14/2007
Provision Point Mechanism, Scenario Rejection and Willingness to Pay
Pete Groothuis
Appalachian State University

Spring 2007

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper
Fri, 04/20/2007
Valuing the Contribution of Scenic Quality to Recreational Experiences: A Case Study in the Southern Appalachian Region
Leah Greden Mathews
UNC-Asheville
Fri, 04/13/2007
Linking Recreation Demand and Willingness to Pay with the Inclusive Value: Valuation of Saginaw Bay Coastal Marsh
John Whitehead
Appalachian State University

Fall 2006

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper
Mon, 11/27/2006
Self-Selection and the Efficiency of Tournaments
Marie-Claire Villevale
University of Lyon
Fri, 11/10/2006
Strategic Use of Cheap Talk with Demand Uncertainty
Tanga McDaniel
Appalachian State University
Fri, 11/03/2006
No title available
Jari Eloranta
Appalachian State University
Fri, 10/06/2006
A Global Perspective on the Non-observed Economy, Inequality, Corruption, and Social Capital
Barkley Rosser
James Madison University
Fri, 09/29/2006
Unmarried Fertility, Crime and Social Stigma
Robert Tamura
Clemson University
Fri, 09/22/2006
Sex Differences in Pay in a "New Monopsony" Model of the Labor Market
Ronald Oaxaca
University of Arizona
Fri, 09/15/2006
The Economics of US Civil War Conscription
Tim Perri
Appalachian State University
Wed, 09/13/2006
Preference Stability and Market Experience: An Experimental Analysis of Anchoring in the Field
Craig Landry
East Carolina University

Spring 2006

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper
Wed, 04/26/2006
Equity-based Compensation and Managerial Fraud: An Experimental Investigation
Mike McKee
University of Calgary
Fri, 04/21/2006
Peak Oil Demand
Stephen Holland
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Fri, 03/24/2006
Voting, Punishment and Public Goods
Todd Cherry
Appalachian State University