Current Seminar Series

The Department of Economics maintains a seminar series to enhance the development and transmission of knowledge and research. The department series and related forums have hosted key figures in economics, including Noble Laureates, Members of the Council of Economic Advisors, and top academic economists.

Fall 2017

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper Info
Fri, 09/29/2017
"The Effect of an Increase in Lead in the Water System on Fertility and Birth Outcomes: The Case of Flint, Michigan"
Dan Grossman
West Virginia University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 10/06/2017
"The Determinants of Multilateral Environmental Agreements and Their Effect on Bilateral Trade Flows"
Tibor Besedes
Georgia Tech University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 10/20/2017
"Being Bad by Being Good: Owner and Captain Value-Added in the Slave Trade"
John Dalton
Wake Forest University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 10/27/2017
"Leadership Through Team Selection in Public Goods Games"
Abhijit Ramalingam
University of East Anglia
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 12/01/2017
“Trading while sleepy? Circadian mismatch and excess volatility in a global experimental asset market.”
David Dickinson
Appalachian State University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm

Spring 2018

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Info
Fri, 03/02/2018
TBA
Lindsey Woodworth
University of South Carolina
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 03/16/2018
TBA
Alec Smith
Virginia Tech University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 03/23/2018
TBA
John Whitehead
Appalachian State University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 04/06/2018
TBA
Gregory Howard
East Carolina University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 04/13/2018
TBA
Harrison Fell
North Carolina State University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 04/20/2018
TBA
Scott Gilpatric
University of Tennessee
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 04/27/2018
2018 Appalachian Environmental & Experimental Economics Workshop
Appalachian State University
Workshop, TBD