Current Seminar Series

The Department of Economics maintains a seminar series to enhance the development and transmission of knowledge and research. The department series and related forums have hosted key figures in economics, including Noble Laureates, Members of the Council of Economic Advisors, and top academic economists.

Fall 2018

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper Info
Fri, 10/26/2018
“Our Bark is Bigger than Our Bite: Stated Preferences over the Distribution of Wages and the Effect on Productivity”
Eric Cardella
Texas Tech
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 11/09/2018
"The Effect of Female Education on Infant and Maternal Health: New Causal Evidence"
Ji Yan
Appalachian State University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 11/16/2018
"Price Setting on a Network"
Toomas Hinnosaar
Collegio Carlo Alberto
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 11/30/2018
TBA
JayJit Roy
Appalachian State University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm

Spring 2019

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper Info
Fri, 02/08/2019
We Only Kill Each Other
Timothy Perri
Appalachian State University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 02/22/2019
Diagnosing insensitivity to scope: The case of oil spills in a pristine arctic coastal area
Name: Ana Filipa Faria Lopes Univ: University of Stavanger (Norway)
University of Stavanger (Norway)
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 03/15/2019
TBA
Sarah Komisarow
Duke University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 03/29/2019
TBA
Dan Houser
George Mason University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 04/05/2019
TBA
Brad Humphreys
West Virginia University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 04/12/2019
TBA
Eric Schmidbauer
University of Central Florida
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 04/26/2019
TBA
John Garen
University of Kentucky
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm