Archived Seminar Series

The Department of Economics maintains a seminar series to enhance the development and transmission of knowledge and research. The department series and related forums have hosted key figures in economics, including Noble Laureates, Members of the Council of Economic Advisors, and top academic economists.

Fall 2012

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper Info
Fri, 09/28/2012
Cognitive Resource Depletion, Choice Consistency, and Risk Preferences
David Dickinson
Appalachian State University
Seminar, RH 3010, 2 pm

Spring 2012

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper
Fri, 04/20/2012
Environmental and Resource Economics Workshop
Fri, 04/13/2012
Coordination and Coercion: The Nature of Rules, Governments, States, and Social Dynamics
John Wallis
University of Maryland
Fri, 03/30/2012
The impact of uncertainty methodologies on dealing with time issues in LCA and GHG accounting
Eric Marland
Appalachian State University
Fri, 03/23/2012
Real-Time Exchange Rate Predictability with Taylor Rule Fundamentals
Tanya Molodtsova
Emory University
Fri, 02/24/2012
Enrollment and Plan Choice in a First-Year High-Risk Pool
Mark Holmes
University of North Carolina
Fri, 02/17/2012
Willingness-to-pay for Oyster Consumption Risk Reductions
John Whitehead
Appalachian State University
Fri, 02/10/2012
The Effects of Minimum Salaries on Career Length: Evidence from the National Football League
Johnny Ducking
North Carolina A&T State University
Fri, 01/13/2012
Gender Differences in Bargaining Outcomes: A Field Experiment on Discrimination
Marco Castillo
George Mason University

Fall 2011

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper
Fri, 11/04/2011
Statistical Discrimination in the Lab: Wage Effects and Unemployment Rates
David Dickinson
Appalachian State University
Fri, 09/30/2011
Are There 'Hidden Costs' of Control in Naturally Occurring Markets: Evidence from Field Experiments
Michael Price
University of Tennessee
Fri, 09/23/2011
Spence Revisited: Signalling and the Allocation of Individuals to Jobs
Tim Perri
Appalachian State University
Fri, 09/09/2011
Discretionary fiscal policy before and after the formation of the European Monetary Union
Jason Jones
Furman University

Spring 2011

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper
Fri, 04/29/2011
In Search of the Multiplier for Federal Spending in the States During the New Deal - Raley Hall 1018
Price Fishback
University of Arizona
Fri, 04/08/2011
Risk Heterogeneity and the Value of Reducing Fatal Risks: Further Market-Based Evidence
Laura Taylor
North Carolina State University
Fri, 04/01/2011
Career Interrupted: Job Interruptions and Their Effects on the Gender Wage Gap
Jill Kearns
East Tennessee State University
Fri, 02/25/2011
Extended Tests for Threshold Unit Roots
Mark Strazicich
Appalachian State University

Fall 2010

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper
Fri, 11/19/2010
Moral Impossibility in the St. Petersburg Paradox: A Literature Survey and Experimental Evidence
Tibor Neugebauer
University of Luxembourg
Fri, 11/05/2010
Competition for Trophies Triggers Male Generosity
Dan Houser
George Mason University
Fri, 10/29/2010
Willingness to Pay for Electronic Vehicles and Their Attributes
George Parsons
University of Delaware
Fri, 10/15/2010
Equilibrium Behavior in a Model of Multilateral Negotiations
Charles Thomas
Clemson University
Fri, 09/17/2010
Labor Supply on the US Professional Golfer's Tour
Bruce Johnson
Centre College

Spring 2010

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper
Fri, 04/16/2010
Bosses, Kings, and Dictators: Effects of Asymmetric Power in Private and Common Property Environments
Jim Cox
Georgia State University
Fri, 04/09/2010
Estimating the Costs of Beach Closures along Cape Hatteras National Seashore
Roger Van Haefen
NC State University
Fri, 03/19/2010
Thesis Chapters
Karine Yenokyan
Appalachian State University