Economics faculty members awarded professorships

Economics professors Pete Groothuis and Dave McEvoy have been awarded professorships in Appalachian State University's Walker College of Business.

Each professorship recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding performance in instruction, scholarship and service. Many of the professorships are named in honor of significant benefactors to the college.

The recipients receive a salary stipend, $5,000 per year, to further advance their work and retain the professorship for two years.


Pete Groothuis has been awarded the Beroth Oil – Four Brothers Food Stores Professorship.

Groothuis has taught at Appalachian since 2002. His professional interests include sports economics, labor economics, environmental economics and applied economics. He has authored a number of articles focused on sports and labor economics as well as environmental and resource economics. Groothuis earned both a master's and Ph.D. in economics from the University of Kentucky.

The Beroth Oil – Four Brothers professorship was established in 1999 by Winston-Salem-based Beroth Oil and Four Brothers Food Stores.


Dave McEvoy has been reappointed Dean's Club Professorships for a second term.

His research interests include environmental economics, experimental economics and international environmental governance. He has served as referee for many professional journals in the economic fields. McEvoy joined the faculty at Appalachian as an assistant professor in 2007 and became an associate professor in 2013. His research has been published in leading environmental economics journals and he is co-editor of a recent volume on the economics of climate negotiations. He is the recipient of the 2010 Sywassink Excellence in Teaching award. 

McEvoy received his M.S. from University College London and Ph.D. from University of Massachusetts, both in environmental economics.

Published: Jun 16, 2016 12:00am