Archived Seminar Series

The Department of Economics maintains a seminar series to enhance the development and transmission of knowledge and research. The department series and related forums have hosted key figures in economics, including Nobel Laureates, Members of the Council of Economic Advisors, and top academic economists.

Spring 2020

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Info
Wed, 11/06/2019
TBA
Hugo Montesinos
University of Pittsburgh
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm

Fall 2019

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper Info
Fri, 11/01/2019
Creative Destruction, Job Reallocation, and Subjective Well-Being
Mona Ahmadiani
Wake Forest University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 10/25/2019
Political Distortions and Infrastructure Networks in China: A Quantitative Spatial Equilibrium Analysis
Simon Alder
UNC - Chapel Hill
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 10/04/2019
Network Formation with Multigraphs and Strategic Complementarities
Sudipta Sarangi
Virginia Tech
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 09/27/2019
Testing Predictions in Weighted Networks with the Dirichlet Covariate Model†
David Rojo Arjona
Chapman University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 09/20/2019
Why Join a Team?
David Cooper
Florida State University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 09/13/2019
Testing the water: Drinking water quality, public notification, and child outcomes
Michelle Marcus
Vanderbilt University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm

Spring 2019

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper Info
Fri, 04/26/2019
Assessing the Literature on School Reform From an Entrepreneurship Perspective
John Garen
University of Kentucky
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 04/12/2019
Project selection and competitive cheap talk: an experimental study
Eric Schmidbauer
University of Central Florida
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 04/05/2019
Match Fixing and Sports Betting in Football: Empirical Evidence from the German Bundesliga
Brad Humphreys
West Virginia University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 03/29/2019
On Language and Meaning: A Randomized Experiment
Dan Houser
George Mason University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 03/22/2019
Using contingent valuation responses to address travel cost endogeneity
Adan L. Martinez-Cruz
Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económicas (CIDE); Centre for Energy Policy and Economics (CEPE), ETH
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 03/15/2019
Community Monitoring and Crime: Evidence from Chicago’s Safe Passage Program
Sarah Komisarow
Duke University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 02/22/2019
Diagnosing insensitivity to scope: The case of oil spills in a pristine arctic coastal area
Ana Filipa Faria Lopes
University of Stavanger (Norway)
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 02/15/2019
The Skill Development of Children of Immigrants
Marie C. Hull
University of North Carolina Greensboro
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 02/08/2019
We Only Kill Each Other
Timothy Perri
Appalachian State University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Date Title Speaker Affiliation Info
Tue, 04/16/2019
Workman Distinguished Lecture : Energy Transitions, Carbon Pricing and the Green New Deal
Brian Murray
Duke University
Room: 114 Belk Library

Fall 2018

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper Info
Fri, 11/30/2018
TBA
JayJit Roy
Appalachian State University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 11/16/2018
"Price Setting on a Network"
Toomas Hinnosaar
Collegio Carlo Alberto
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 11/09/2018
"The Effect of Female Education on Infant and Maternal Health: New Causal Evidence"
Ji Yan
Appalachian State University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 10/26/2018
“Our Bark is Bigger than Our Bite: Stated Preferences over the Distribution of Wages and the Effect on Productivity”
Eric Cardella
Texas Tech
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 10/05/2018
"Cooperation when Defection is Risky Too"
Andrew Kloosterman
University of Virginia
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 09/21/2018
"Emissions, Transmission, and the Environmental Value of Wind Energy"
Harrison Fell
North Carolina State University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 1pm

Spring 2018

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper Info
Fri, 04/27/2018
2018 Appalachian Environmental & Experimental Economics Workshop
Appalachian State University
Workshop, TBD
Fri, 04/20/2018
"Motivating Workers through Task Assignment: A Dynamic Model of Up-and- Down Competition for Status"
Scott Gilpatric
University of Tennessee
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm