Archived Seminar Series

The Department of Economics maintains a seminar series to enhance the development and transmission of knowledge and research. The department series and related forums have hosted key figures in economics, including Nobel Laureates, Members of the Council of Economic Advisors, and top academic economists.

Seminar Registration

Spring 2020

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper Info
Fri, 04/17/2020
Event Cancelled - Economics Seminar
Per Fredriksson
University of Louisville
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 04/03/2020
Event Cancelled - Economics Seminar
Philip Brookins
University of South Carolina
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 03/20/2020
Event Cancelled - Behaviors and School Achievement: Experimental Evidence
Etienne Dagorn
University of Rennes,
Seminar, 3010 PH 2pm
Fri, 02/21/2020
Presidents, Economic Performance, and Monetary Policy Rules
Onur Ince
Appalachian State University
Seminar 3010 PH at 2:00pm
Fri, 02/14/2020
The Attraction of Magnet Schools: Evidence from Embedded Lotteries in School Assignment
Thayer Morrill and Melinda Morrill
North Carolina State University
Seminar, 3010 PH 11am
Fri, 02/07/2020
Contests, Qverbidding, and Contest Avoidance: A Cross-cultural Examination
Patrick McGuire
Appalachian State University
Seminar, 3010 PH 2pm
Fri, 01/31/2020
Party schools, football schools and student quality
Peter Groothuis and Austin Eggers
Appalachian State University
Seminar, 3010 PH 2pm

Fall 2019

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper Info
Fri, 11/01/2019
Creative Destruction, Job Reallocation, and Subjective Well-Being
Mona Ahmadiani
Wake Forest University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 10/25/2019
Political Distortions and Infrastructure Networks in China: A Quantitative Spatial Equilibrium Analysis
Simon Alder
UNC - Chapel Hill
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 10/04/2019
Network Formation with Multigraphs and Strategic Complementarities
Sudipta Sarangi
Virginia Tech
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 09/27/2019
Testing Predictions in Weighted Networks with the Dirichlet Covariate Model†
David Rojo Arjona
Chapman University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 09/20/2019
Why Join a Team?
David Cooper
Florida State University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 09/13/2019
Testing the water: Drinking water quality, public notification, and child outcomes
Michelle Marcus
Vanderbilt University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm

Spring 2019

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper Info
Fri, 04/26/2019
Assessing the Literature on School Reform From an Entrepreneurship Perspective
John Garen
University of Kentucky
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 04/12/2019
Project selection and competitive cheap talk: an experimental study
Eric Schmidbauer
University of Central Florida
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 04/05/2019
Match Fixing and Sports Betting in Football: Empirical Evidence from the German Bundesliga
Brad Humphreys
West Virginia University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 03/29/2019
On Language and Meaning: A Randomized Experiment
Dan Houser
George Mason University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 03/22/2019
Using contingent valuation responses to address travel cost endogeneity
Adan L. Martinez-Cruz
Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económicas (CIDE); Centre for Energy Policy and Economics (CEPE), ETH
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 03/15/2019
Community Monitoring and Crime: Evidence from Chicago’s Safe Passage Program
Sarah Komisarow
Duke University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 02/22/2019
Diagnosing insensitivity to scope: The case of oil spills in a pristine arctic coastal area
Ana Filipa Faria Lopes
University of Stavanger (Norway)
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 02/15/2019
The Skill Development of Children of Immigrants
Marie C. Hull
University of North Carolina Greensboro
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 02/08/2019
We Only Kill Each Other
Timothy Perri
Appalachian State University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Date Title Speaker Affiliation Info
Tue, 04/16/2019
Workman Distinguished Lecture : Energy Transitions, Carbon Pricing and the Green New Deal
Brian Murray
Duke University
Room: 114 Belk Library

Fall 2018

Date Title Speaker Affiliation Paper Info
Fri, 11/30/2018
TBA
JayJit Roy
Appalachian State University
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm
Fri, 11/16/2018
"Price Setting on a Network"
Toomas Hinnosaar
Collegio Carlo Alberto
Seminar, 3010 PH at 2pm